You Versus the Blank Screen

Whether at a local Starbucks, library or park, I can write anywhere as long as I have my notebook, laptop, food and inspiration.

I prefer to write in a social setting with good vibes. To me, the source of a good vibe is off of people who are in constant motion, because they are being productive in some way. This atmosphere helps me stay conscious of time passing, thus motivating me to continue my work.

Food is also at the heart of my writing. In fact, as I’m typing this up now, I’ve been munching away at a Nature Valley granola bar (a Crunchy Oats & Honey one). It’s a great way to keep the ball rolling. At this time of year, I’m most likely at a Starbucks sipping on a Waffle Cone Frappuccino, which is seasonal 😦 .

I don’t always create posts from scratch. I tend to find inspiration at the oddest times. Like when I’m stuck in traffic and listening to Little Mix on Pandora. Or while cruising through the tempting isles during a Target run. To keep track of my ideas, I carry a notebook in my purse, that I use to capture everything on paper.

The most important thing about writing, especially when posting on a blog, is being committed. There will be slow days when you may suffer from writer’s block. Don’t let those days deter you from all those great progress you’ve made. Grab a cup of coffee with a friend and talk about the interests you share. You could debate the results of the season finale of Dancing With the Stars (no spoilers, but it was BREATHTAKING).

This is a quote I found on Goodreads, a fantastic website for book lovers, which suitably sums up this post,

U1889231“And by the way, everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise. The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt.” ― Sylvia Plath, The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath

 

 

Where do you write? Let me know in the comments. If you’ve written a post similar to this, leave a link down below, I’d love to read them!

-Thxoxoxox

5 thoughts on “You Versus the Blank Screen

  1. gmmrs says:

    I write mostly at home when I have a free moment from the busyness usually late at night while having some droning late night show on or a DVR show I’m not crazy about but like to have on as background noise. My mind is always running and I’m usually thinking of ideas after I get off work so when it comes to me either I write a post or put it in a draft when I know that ok all of these ideas aren’t quite formulated yet and I may have others, at least I’ll have it and then some for when I have time to really write things out. I also write at work. It’s hard to though being as especially this time of year is my busiest time and I should be doing work not other stuff haha. They’re real strict like that. Yet I still find time to do it especially if I know that at home I wouldn’t have the time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • justgeeklyfab says:

      Even though you’re very busy, it’s good that you find time to write! You like to watch tv while you write? Yup same here, and sometimes I listen to music. Thanks for posting!

      Like

  2. gmmrs says:

    Yeah I have to write. Otherwise all these ideas just consume my mind and I just feel unproductive if I can’t let them out. Mind is always running! I should have found this site 6 years ago haha, oh the many posts I would have written in that time when I didn’t have the outlet. But yeah I do like watching TV when I write, I like background noise. I like having music too playing, mostly R&B because its calming to me. Usually I write a lot at work when everyone else is talking. I don’t like the silence all that much because I can’t seem to be able to complete my thoughts that I want to write out as more things come to my head. I appreciate you and your blog, I think its fabulous!

    Like

  3. gmmrs says:

    Hahaha you know what, I didn’t even try to put that as a pun and it took me a couple of seconds to get what you’re saying. But what do you know, I did it hahaha, no pun intended, sort of 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

