The Human Horizon

Once I was traveling, and I had a connecting flight in Paris. As I was waiting at my gate, a man sat next to me, I took a sneaky glace to see who it was… turns out to be my french professor! I hadn’t seen him in a while so we caught up a bit. He refused to let me speak in English(of course), so I could make use of my French speaking skills(which are quite average). Has something like this happened to you before? They make me think, “Wow, what are the chances?! It is a small world after all.”

Before you change your mind about the size of Earth,  here is a tweet that spoke to me, while writing this post.

I find this tweet mind blowing. The universe consumes us. At times Earth might seem small, but we are minute compared to the Countless objects that exist just beyond the atmosphere that protects us.

It may just be ironic that I ran into my French professor at the Charles De Gaul Airport. The odds of that happening are 1/population of all humans on Earth. You’re more likely to get struck by lightning. The fact that it happened, when the chance is so slim, makes me wonder about what else is in outer space.

There is so much we don’t know about the universe, majority of which we won’t understand during our lifetime. Everything we have learned on Earth could be trumped (no ridiculous pun intended) by new discoveries of other instances of solar systems, planets, and life. This is why we shouldn’t take our lives for granted.

Don’t be consumed by money, power, or work. Those are just a means to an end. Having a balance between different aspects of life is key to enjoying life. Who knows, maybe one day, life may change as we know it. We know nothing compared to what is really out there. So enjoy what Earth offers for what it is, no matter the details. Respect and cherish it. You have free will, and the ability decide what to do with your life. I say, make life adventurous.

-Thxoxoxo

8 thoughts on “The Human Horizon

  1. any1mark66 says:

    The world is tiny. We view it in five to six foot sizes. Putting your footsteps on the planet teaches you the further place from home still has traces of home. I have traveled to a place called Death Valley in California. It was flooded and only one entrance was open. I drove 65 miles to get there from another one. The only place open to travel had a man and his wife hiking. His cap had a Cleveland Indians logo on it. He lived in San Diego. Being from Cleveland, OH, two thousand miles away and the only other people are originally from there too. Yes, I understand your position all too well. There are other times too. It happens despite the odds unlike the lottery with the same odds.

    Like

  2. Purva Abhyankar says:

    I had a slightly different experience than yours. But the odds of that happening were very less. As I was travelling from California , back to my country, i had a break in Dubai. As the flight changed, so did the co-passengers . It was a 3 hr flight. A young lady , my age, sitting next to me was watching a german movie. As I’ve learnt the language as my hobby, i decided to use my skills . I thought that even though it’s a disaster, she’s a stranger and the embarrassment would last only for a few hours. So, at the end of my journey we were chit chatting like long lost sisters in german! I never got her number or anything but that was a unique experience for me. So the odds of that happening as you said were 1/human population of the earth.

    Like

  3. Kristen says:

    Ahaa, its fastidious dialogue on the topic of this piece of
    writing at this place at this weblog, I have read all that, so now me also
    commenting at this place.

    Like

Leave a Reply

