The Dreams We Fight

Run. Faster, faster!

The flames graze my ankles.

Up ahead, a glowing light grows brighter. Hope. Run, heart is heavy aching for air. I pull in countless breaths.

Flames ahead, deceptive. Trapped, surrounded. Wait, a tree. Unbelievably missed by the scorch.

Climb. For heaven’s sake, next branch is too far to reach. Down below, the devil inching up the tree. Hope diminishing…

Awoken. The cool crisp of a soaked cloth. As its moisture caressed my face, I opened my eyes. The fierce grip on my heart defeated.

Large, pure, sea blue eyes gaze protectively out our window. A reassuring, warm hand supporting mine, watching over me.

Another night survived.

-Thxoxoxo

A different kind of post. Leave me a reply with your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

