The Reader’s Confession Tag

I took this challenge on after reading it off The Jouska and I challenge anyone who reads this post!

1. Have you ever damaged a book?

Yes, I have. I have spilled drinks on my books before. I like to eat while I read! Many times that leads to me spilling on the pages.

2. Have you ever damaged a borrowed book?

Besides leaking water bottles that have licked the corners of my text books, nope. I like to return my friends books in the same shape they were lent to me, or else they wouldn’t let me borrow their books anymore!

3. How long does it take you to read a book?

Depends on the length and how much I like it. Usually a 400 page book takes me 2-3 days. Otherwise I like to take my time (4-5 days). But my family has known me to stay in my room all day to finish a book that I literally can’t let go of.

4. Book’s that you haven’t finished?

3236307Graceling, by Kristin Cashore, has sat on my self for a good couple years. I don’t know why honestly, at the time I started it, I had started reading another series, which was a lot better. So I kind of forgot about it, and haven’t been bothered to finish it since.

 

 

 

 

5. Hyped or popular books that you don’t like?

I have read a lot of the hyped books, and I liked them all. They were a bit cliche, but I don’t regret reading them. They don’t make up the majority of the books that I’ve read. The more hyped series I have read are: Hunger Games, Divergent, Me Before You, The Fault In Our Stars, The Maze Runner, and The Hobbit.

6. Is there a book you wouldn’t tell anyone you were reading?

10818853If I read 50 Shades of Grey, I wouldn’t tell. Funny thing is, my mom read the whole series, while we were in Lebanon two summers ago, and some of her friends read them too!

 

 

 

 

7. How many books do you own?

Too many. So many in fact, they make up 30% of my room. I have an IKEA Billy Bookcase, that is filled with books to the brim. And about 2 more Billy Bookcases worth of books in my room.

13800273To keep track of my books, I use Goodreads. Their app is fantastic, there is a shelving feature that lets you scan a book’s bar code. So, I did that for all of my books! It’s like having a full functioning personal library.

 

kind-fbI few years ago I bought a Kindle Paperwhite. I still buy physical books, but when I travel, I buy a couple books on my Kindle to read. I used to lug books with me in my luggage. So many, it was a bit ridiculous. Now my Kindle really comes in handy.

 

8. Are you a fast reader, or a slow reader?

I am a very fast reader. Some may think that fast readers don’t pay attention to detail, and do not retain material. Bit I beg to differ. I live for observation and detail, it’s in my Gemini nature to be so.

9. Have you ever Buddy Read before?

When I  was younger, and my mother would read to me before bed, we would take turns reading. Many of the time, she would fall asleep while I was reading! So much for her reading me to sleep.

10. Do you read in your head or out loud?

When I read books for my philosophy courses, I had to read out loud, or else I wouldn’t understand anything Descartes, Plato or what Socrates said.

Sometimes I help my youngest brother, read his assigned readings, out loud while he takes notes. Otherwise, I read in my head.

11. If you could own one book, what would it be and why?

865Besides the clever answer, buying a Kindle. I would chose, The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho. This is my all time favorite book. I read it my senior year in high school for my English class. I chose this book because it’s an easy read with a lot of conceptual depth. It can be applied to many aspects of life, and I’d be able to pass it down to my children.

 

 

 


That’s it! Challenge complete!

When you complete the challenge, be sure to tag (@justgeeklyfab) me so I can read your answers! I’d love to see your opinions in the comments! Good Luck!

-Thxoxoxo, H

5 thoughts on “The Reader’s Confession Tag

Leave a Reply

