The Summer Traveler

Summer is when I travel the most. It’s also the best time of year to travel. The vibes during the travel months ofΒ  June to September are touristy.

Here are some tips to being a summer traveler.

Check the forecast

  • Be aware of what the weather will be like before you get to your destination. You can easily do this by looking it up online. For weather in Lebanon, I either use The Weather Channel app on my iPhone, or I simply Google, Beirut Lebanon weather. Pack according to the weather you experience. The worst thing is to be unprepared, especially when visiting a new place.

Embrace Tourism

  • Plan adventures and fill up your schedule. Of course leave some time to sleep and relax, but aim to visit a few tourist sites each day. There is a fantastic app that acts as an all-inclusive travel partner/guide. Free on smart phone and desktop, it’s called Gogobot. I have it on my iPhone, and I use it on all my travels. It has three main tabs, Eat, Sleep, Play, they are each self-explanatory, and even has recognition for locals. You can create “bucket list” full of places and things to do there. You can read and leave reviews, add friends, and earn rankings from travels saved on a geomap. There is even a detailed map and GPS within the app, along with a weather report! Besides your luggage, and passport, Gogobot is all you need to have a fantastic trip!

Capture It All

  • When making memories, what do you do? You document it. On the go, the best way to document is through pictures. Before you travel, charge camera batteries, clean memory cards, and make sure you have a good travel case for your camera to stay safe. I personally use my iPhone 6s to take pictures. The camera is famously renowned. Before I leave on a trip, I like to backup my phone and download some pictures off of it to gain some memory space. I recently made a purchase on Amazon that I’m very excited about. I got a waterproof sleeve for my iPhone. It was around $11, Amazon Prime, and comes in different colors. I go the blue one. It’s clear on both sides so you can take advantage of both back and front camera use. Majority of the reviews were positive. I can’t wait to use this to film/take pictures at the beach!

The Simple Bare Necessities

  • tumblr_lop5gg5x6p1qewb27o1_540Don’t over pack. I’ve made this mistake before, and it’s frustrating. Being a tourist has some secret perks. One is that when you travel, you can wear clothes multiple times. You don’t have to be in full-out runway outfits. If you’re adventuring, take clothes that you can mix and match. Cotton t-shirts and tanks look simple and are versatile for all types of weather. The only thing you should pack extra of is underwear. Leave space in your luggage. You may make a couple of purchases on your trip and the last thing you want to worry about is having to pay a heavy bag fee or lugging extra things in a separate bag. Don’t overthink your packing, if your holding up a piece of clothing, in debate of weather to pack it or not, don’t pack it. What you need to bring should be obvious, anything else is just extra weight. It’s OK! You’ll be fine with just the necessities, even if it’s not as much as you think you need!

Mindset

  • When your on vacation, don’t overthink every detail. Take the beautiful views in, enjoy your company, and soak in the summer vibes. Relax your shoulders and start every morning off saying this out loud, “Today is going to be a good day, and it’s up to me to make it that way”. This immediately puts you in a positive mindset. If it doesn’t, then you may just be hangry, go get some breakfast.

I hope you take these tips wherever you travel this summer and for all the fun adventures to come. Have any tips? Leave them in the comments.

-Thxoxoxo, H

50 thoughts on “The Summer Traveler

  1. gmmrs says:

    Great point about the weather and there’s many good apps out there for this. I’m a meteorologist, I’m a little biased on what I like to look at when it comes to weather. But definitely with your weather app have one that provides you severe weather alerts for your location. Because Summer is the prime season for thunderstorms and often severe storms crop up quick and you need to have a way of knowing when it will be dangerous so a good app to alert is essential.

    Hey thanks for the tip on the Gogobot app I hadn’t heard of that. Usually I would look at TripAdvisor or search on Yelp for places to eat or visit before I go on vacation. Always good to be prepared with directions too so you’re not fooling with paper or staring at your phone like a vulnerable, ready to be taken advantage of tourist trying to find places so I would recommend before leaving the hotel, cottage, cabin, B&B wherever to have where you want to go and how you’ll get there in mind. Of course it can be very easy to get disoriented whereever you are but having a safe place to stop and reset and regain your bearings is a necessary thing as well. Just keep an eye at all times of your surroundings.

    Walk with confidence too, like you own the place. Hell the locals may ask YOU where places are in that case. I’ve had that happen many times when on vacation somewhere since I’ve been a teenager.

    Liked by 1 person

    • justgeeklyfab says:

      Awesome comment! I hope you enjoy the Gogobot app. You have some great advice about being prepared, and walking like you now where you’re going. I have also been asked for directions while traveling. It’s oddly a confidence booster eh? hahaha

      Liked by 1 person

  2. nikkidiez13 says:

    This post is so helpful and so true! The weather can effect your trip in so many ways. One of my trips we had so much rain that was unexpected we got soaked numerous times. It didn’t really bother us much but it would have been nice to be prepared.

    Thanks so much for the Gogobot app recommendation. I literally just downloaded it and will definitely be using it for my next trip!

    Also, I love what you had to say about your mindset. It’s so important. Traveling can be stressful and constantly moving around so sometimes you just have to take in moments from time to time. Just appreciating your time you have traveling and fully taking in the experience makes it so much better and all worth wild!

    Sorry for the rambling haha. Love your blog!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • justgeeklyfab says:

      Ahhh thanks so much for the lovely comment. I’m glad you enjoyed it! Isn’t the app great! Unexpected rain sucks, it’s ok, now you know to be prepared.
      Yes the mindset is very important I’m glad we agree πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Test - DropUrPin
  4. Keep calm and just carry on says:

    Definitely agree on travelling light. I’m on a 48 day around the world trip with only carry on- saves me so much time and hassle at airports, and no need to stress that bags will get lost! Packing cubes are brilliant! Agree on the weather apps too- so important to know what you’re heading into.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. asrodblog says:

    Definitely going to try out gogobot. I love things that help me categorize. I use pinterest a lot for this too. There are so many links to blogs with great places to eat and insider tips. That always helps me plan my trips!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Topaztravels says:

    This is a great post! I definately agree about not overpacking and leaving room in your bag, i’ve lost count of the amount of times my boyfriend and I had to lug our laundry bag around as we couldn’t fit it in our backpacks! Nightmare!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

