Confess by Collen Hoover

Warning! This is a book review, there are a couple spoilers!

This book is one of the couple books that I have on my 2016 Summer Reading List.

Auburn and Owen. These are the names of the two destined to be together.

This book is a romance story. Nothing fantasy about it. It’s strippingly relatable and written smoothly.

The chapters switch on and off from Auburn to Owen’s point of view.

Normally this tactic annoys me, but for this book, it worked very well. The transitions were skillfully made and the change of view is a part of what makes the story so capturing.

The strongest feeling I had, while reading this book, was hope.

I wanted things to work out for Auburn, and for her son, AJ, whom her whole life orbits around.

Scenes are either tense, uplifting, frightening or all around heart quenching. I couldn’t put this book down. I had to know what Owen would do next, to see Auburn again. I couldn’t wait to read how Auburn truly felt about Owen, and that she would never feel that way with anyone else.

The dramatic scenes with Trye were my least favorite. They hit a sensitive spot, (I think they were supposed to), scenes of assault and jealousy made the story juicy and kept me on the edge of my seat.

What Auburn faced made me reassure myself that I will never let a man treat me the way Trye did to Auburn.

No man should ever lay his hands on a woman and manipulate her life the way he selfishly did. I was so disgusted at times, but my eyes were kept glued to the book, I kept reading!

Auburn is a dynamic character. She starts out as an insecure twenty something college graduate who hasn’t been able to open her heart to any man, since her late boyfriend, Adam, passed away from cancer.

It’s not until she notices the “help wanted” on Owen’s studio door that her life changes. He changes her. For the better. She becomes confident, and ends up deciding, for herself, what she wants for her life. She grows to the point of standing up to foes that she has cowered from for 5 years.

By the end of the book I was so proud of Auburn. She is inspiring. No matter what horrible situations she’s been through. She put her foot down and straightened everything out.

She shines through the lies and guides the truth to the front of the room.

That is what gets her on top and out of dangerous water.

Love stories like this make me wonder if I will ever find love similar to what Auburn and Owen had. My mom would tell me that live is only in books and movies. It’s not reality.

But I can’t help but wonder… The ideas for stories must come from somewhere. Such descriptive scenes, can not be so well written from imagination. They had to be based of something….

Let me know what you think of this book review! It’s hopefully the first of many more to come!

-Thxoxoxoxo, H

2 thoughts on “Confess by Collen Hoover

Leave a Reply

