Coffee Date #16

It’s been another week! Time is flying by! Goodbye October.

It’s been a couple weeks since we’ve met up for coffee. I’ve been looking forward to this!

So, how have you been? Hows work/school/college? Did you enjoy the lovely weather before it started getting colder? I sure did!

I’ve had mid terms these past couple of weeks. They went very well! I’m just glad they’re over. My group and I are still working on our Operating Systems project. Phase two is due on Monday! Which is Halloween! My professor said that he always has it due on Halloween so that we “stay out of trouble”. Hahaha, I’m sure people aren’t going to be working on it as much as they should, but my group and I are hoping to get it done by tonight! We are so close to being finished!

I was asked the other day what I had planned to do for Halloween, then I realized that October is pretty much over! That’s crazy. I haven’t gotten the chance to thing about Halloween. I feel like it snuck up on me. I don’t know what I’m going to dress up as, but I have a few ideas. Especially after watching this video!

This is Jenifer. I’ve been watching her videos for a while now. She is a first year college student. although I’m a couple years older than her, I find her very relate able. She is so smart and has very clever DIYs. I would recommend checking out her channel!

After watching this video, I really want to make the hamburger costume! Which one is our favorite? I also watched this video for some Halloween inspiration…

This is Aspen Ovard. She is another YouTuber I’m subscribed to. Her videos are very fresh and modern. These costumes are ones I’d never think of making myself! But I really like the ice cream costume. So it’s either than or Jen’s hamburger one. Which one did you like the best?

Other than Halloween, I’ve been extremely busy with school. But I’ve still managed to acknowledge my social life. If I don’t get the chance to meet up with my friends, I call them for a chat. My commute to campus if half an hour. Which is the perfect time for me to call my friends. Other than texting, that’s how I stay in touch with them. I love chatting it up with them, and they seem to really appreciate the call! I find calling someone, is better than texting them. Something about hearing their voice and having a fluid conversation versus the choppy vibe of a texting conversation makes talking on the phone, more appealing.

But I didn’t do much talking while I had laryngitis for two weeks! Those weeks were a struggle for me to get through. I had never had laryngitis before! You know how people say you don’t know what you have till it’s gone? Well, I love to sing, and while i had laryngitis , I had to refrain from singing. That was extremely difficult! I sing everywhere, in the car, at home, with friends, I’m in the choir at my church, and I take private voice lessons! Singing and music is a huge part of my life. Now I appreciate it even more because I realized how important it was to me. Have you ever had Laryngitis? It sucks! I had to email my professors and tell them that I couldn’t participate in class because I physically couldn’t speak! I would email them my reflections in the reading we were assigned. One professor loved my email to her so much, that she read it out loud to the class because she thought I had a great review of the readings she had assigned!

I’m very glad that my voice eventually returned. Other than that, nothing out of the ordinary has happened. Oh! Except for one thing. If you have been reading my blog for a while you may know about the guy I was “talking to” a couple years ago. Well, he recently texted me, out of the blue, and said he wanted to be friends again. At first I was skeptical. I didn’t know whether he was playing me, or if he was really wanting to be friends. He has a girlfriend. So I immediately thought, why would he want to be friends again, if he has a girlfriend? He’s been with her for about a year. And she a wonderful person! So, we texted and reminisced about our friends we hung out with, and we’ve been chatting. Our conversation has remained friendly, and I like it that way. There’s no drama. I know he really likes his girlfriend. I’m happy for them. I’m happy that he has found someone how really, truly cares for him. He watches Supergirl on CW, so we’ve bonded over that, and we’ve been playing words with friends and pool on the new iOS messaging feature. I’m glad we’ve renewed our friendship. He was one of the first friends I made when I started college. We were in the same friend group, and at the time, we were in the same major. So we’ve seen each other grow, and think he was just wanting to see how I was doing. I’ll see if he keeps in touch, or if he mysteriously disappears. Whatever happens, I’m glad we caught up.

Other than that, I’ve been drowning in school work. I hope you all had a wonderful weekend! Mine was productive and fun. Let’s chat in the comments!

-Thxoxoxoxo, H

 

Leave a Reply

