Coffee Date #19

Hello! Let’s chat over a cup of coffee.This winter break has been relaxing. I cleaned my room (rather than shoving things so they “disappear”) and I’ve started reading again. I’m currently reading Zoella’s latest novel titled, Girl Online Going Solo. It’s a light read. Her audience is bent towards a younger crowd than me but I still enjoy it.

book3

Other than that I caught up with a bunch of my friends from high school. Yes, I still talk to my high school friends. We have remained close over the years and we continue to stay in touch. They are some of my closest and dearest friends. I really enjoy spending time with them because we always have things to talk about. We have may similar interests although we are each majoring in different areas.

Sadly I didn’t the chance to catch up on Teen Wolf. But I did watch the first episode of the second season to Shadowhunters! It’s so good! I have read all the books in the series, so it is interesting to compare the books to each of the episodes. If you’d like to read more about the series let me know in the comments! The show is about today’s world but with the esitence of all the demons we’ve been lead to belive don’t exist today such as, vampires, werewolves, elves, etc. Shadowhunters are beings that keep humans safe from demons.

24168368582_acb15dd560_b

The cast of Shadowhunters!

My uncle and his girlfriend came over for Christmas weekend and spent the holiday with us. We played endless rounds of Rummy-Q and Pictionary, and watched My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2, and Secret Life of Pets. My younger brother and I bought our other brother Settlers of Catan, a strategy board game. We’ve been obsessed ever since. I’ve won 90% of the rounds we’ve played so far (thanks to the extra points from the longest road card).

My family and I attended many Christmas parties. They were all very enjoyable, filled with rounds of Cards Against Humanity, foosball, pool, and glasses of wine and champagne.

My church choir had our yearly Christmas recital. I sang a solo, which I wrote more about in another blog post here. We also had to prepare for Midnight Mass on Christmas night and New Year’s day morning. Speaking on New Year’s Eve, this year I spent it at church. No, not in mass. On the contrary, the Maronite Adult Youth group planned a huge party, we invited people from all over (Michigan, Columbus, Kentucky, etc). To our joy we had about 140 people come! We raised enough money to be able to attend the Young Adult retreat later this year! That was our goal because we just started up the Young Adult group at my parish since many of the youth members were exeeding the age limit, (13-18) and thus we were able to start a Young Adult group, with a significant number of devoted members.

Overall winter break flew by. I finished applying for grad school, reorganized my room and closet, and prepared myself for next semester. I spent a lot of time with family and friends, mostly catching up over cups of coffee.

Tell me, how was the end to 2016 for you? Did you make any new resolutions? I’d love to chat in the comments!

-Thxoxoxoxo, H

Leave a Reply

