Table 55

“Have you been helped?”

“Nope”

“You dining in or ordering carry out?”

“Dining in.”

“How many?”

“Just two.”

“OK, right this way, is this table fine?”

“Yes, great thanks.”

“your waiter will be right with you.”

“OK”

Sitting in the back corner of Aladdin’s Eatery, where one wall is the glass window and the perpendicular wall is mirrored, is my favorite table in the restaurant. I’ve become a regular at the local Aladdin’s Eatery. It’s the closest genuine Lebanese food that’s not cooked by a Lebanese mother. Traditional yet has a great variety of dishes. If you’d like to jazz up your tuna roll with extra sauce, they’ll make it happen.

Well today I was catching up with one of my best friends, whom I’ve known since my first year in college. Although I see her almost on a daily basis, we always have so much to talk about. We never run out of things to say!

But today I felt like we reached yet another step in our friendship. We talked about relationships, getting married, and the dirty part of relationships (if you know what I mean). Getting engaged had been brought up with another friend I met up with this past week. She asked me, “How do you picture your engagement ring? Do you want him to pick it? Or would you rather go with him to get it?” The thought had never crossed my mind. We talked about it and I brought up the same topic to my best friend today at Aladdin’s. She said she’d want it to be a surprise. She hopes that he’d know her well enough to know what kind of ring she’d like.

I agree with her 100%. When I get engaged, I want it to be private, just me and him. Although is may be odd, I’d like a photographer to be there to capture my reaction. My family would love to be there, but I feel like getting engaged is supposed to be a personal moment, whereas the wedding is the big ceremony to celebrate with everyone.

Of course talking about getting engaged got me and my bff to start talking about guys. We both have had some very interesting experiences in the past. Her having more than me. We enjoy talking about them because it feels like the only way to move on from them.

So we talked and talked and before we knew it, 4 hours passed by! The restaurant was empty and we had gulped down 4 glasses of water each. I came to realize that those conversations are the best because you lose track of time. You feel so comfortable with a person that you can tell each other anything, and there’s no judgement. There was much laughter and gossip. But most of all it felt reassuring to know that someone is willing to spend hours talking to me rather than do something else. No matter what we spoke about we were glad to spend the time catching up.

There are some friends I can’t have these conversations with. It simply doesn’t feel right. Some people may say that you can only talk to people if they’ve had the same level of experience. I don’t think that’s true. You can talk to a friend about anything. If you’re asking for advice then, of course, you may receive different tips from friends who have experience versus those who don’t. Either way you’re still getting advice. Don’t shut friends out whom you believe will judge you harshly by your actions. If they are a true friend, they won’t. I truly care for the well-being of all my friends. No matter how close we are, I’m there for them. I can only hope they are there for me in return.

Many good conversations happened at table 55 today. Many more will happen every day.

Do you have a favorite place to catch up with friends? Any activity you enjoy with friends other than eating? Let me know more about yourself in the comments.

-Thxoxoxoxo, H

2 thoughts on “Table 55

Leave a Reply

